Skip to content

Kona 2012 Qualification: August Update on KPR Standings

At the time that I’m writing this article, all the races offering KPR points for Kona 2012 have been completed and WTC has updated their rankings to show which PROs have already accepted or declined their July slots and which PROs will be able to claim the remaining August slots.

Athletes who have declined their July slots and those that got a roll-down slot

There are not too many PROs that have declined their Kona slot:

  • Carrie Lester (AUS)
    I don’t know why Carrie turned down her slot.
  • Corinne Abraham (GBR)
    She posted her reasons on her blog. Basically, she wants to race some more races in 2012, and feels that Kona would end her season and thus does not make sense from a business perspective.
  • Raynard Tissink (ZAF)
    As I understand it, Raynard ended his professional triathlon career after Kona 2011. He raced IM South Africa 2012 “for fun” (validating his slot), but is not interested in racing Kona 2012.

The roll down went to the following athletes (points are from end of July, they may have changed by now by including additional results):

  • Sara Gross (CAN) 4.415 points
  • Mareen Hufe (GER) 4.400 points
  • Michael Raelert (GER) 3.830 points

Athletes eligible for an August slot

In August there are five more women that will get a Kona slot:

  • Rebekah Keat (AUS) 6.630 points
  • Amy Marsh (USA) 6.615 points
  • Sarah Piampiano (USA) 6.405 points
  • Michelle Gailey (AUS) 5.540 points
  • Emi Sakai (JAP) 5.040 points

On the men’s side, we have the following ten athletes:

  • Jordan Rapp (USA) 6.000 points
  • Jozsef Major (HUN) 5.920 points
  • Maxim Kriat (UKR) 5.720 points
  • Trevor Wurtele (CAN) 5.020 points
  • Jan Raphael (GER) 4.800 points
  • Andi Böcherer (GER) 4.770 points
  • Pedro Gomes (PRT) 4.710 points
  • Markus Thomschke (GER) 4.600 points
  • Jason Shortis (AUS) 4.380 points
  • Bart Aernouts (BEL) 4.210 points

Some of these athletes may decline their slots, so there may be some roll down. The first athletes that may get a slot that way are Tamara Kozulina (UKR, 5.020 points) and Christian Brader (GER, 3.820 points).

Select your currency
EUR Euro

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.